Life Rearranged.

23 Aug

Being twenty something these days is not easy. You must fight for anything in your life choice. Check your parent`s social life, then see yours. These day more type of persons than in the past you can meet. Everyone is connected by technologies. It means, more in EVERYTHING. You wants to find a job, you wants to success, or you wants to find good wife… You must win it over more competitors.

Twenty something are the year when you graduated from the collage, get degree and then you thinking, “What`s next?”. We have more choices these day. Choices bring opportunities. And opportunities bring expectations. Why? Because the freedom has paradox. When we have freedom to choose, we always want the best choice, yup, that is expectation. Then, if we are not satisfied, we start blaming ourself for choosing that choice. P.S:There is a TED video about this.

Okay, now you know where this note going. I will start my long (insignificant) story. It has a point, but too many ‘curhat’. 😀

As student, i had a really easy life. I got my three-point-something GPA in my undergraduate, and that was not the best of me. Maybe i just put half-effort to get that. I am not lazy, i just not very determinate. Don’t get wrong, i am not ‘given’ student. As in high school, once time i got bottom two in my class rank, and i am okay. No one ever expecting me to reach something. I study only because it seems right.

Those days, i am a  ‘right now’ person. As long i having fun right now, i am fine. I also have very low expectation about the live, because i think i can still be fun in any condition, stupid thinking. My sensory of crisis was not developed in my early life. 😀

After graduation, i became so confused. Like i said in the first paragraph, graduation means more choices and i am not sure about what will i do in my life. I live in doubt, i am not focus, i learned little of too many things. Those days, seeing how my collage friend became, brought very much pressure to me. Some doing social program, some continue their study, some get decent job, some go aboard, some had family, etc. And in my mind, my life is nothing compared to them. I set my expectation so high. That time desperately need something to make me feel better. That was the first time i have my expectation of myself. It was in mid 2011.

On my desperation, i felt that everything in my life are not good enough for me. My job, my colleagues, the company i found, my master program, my girlfriend, even my parent, just all. All that year, i raise my expectation on everything, but i wasn’t ready. I became more egoistic than ever, i get bored easily, sometime i didn’t want to works on something just because it felt not worth it. i have set my goals so high, to get my (predicted) failures. But, i cannot lower my goals that time, because it will not helping me to get my esteem back.

I failed many times on late 2011. I wasted my job interview, i broke with my girlfriend, failed in my luxury project and got my contract terminated, just because i am so demanding. And, i take the failures the worst way. After the failures, i feel more worthless than ever, i only wants to ran away. I becomes so lazy and paralyze  I feel my life was so damaged, that can not be fixed. So, why bother to fix that? From egoistic, i became pessimistic and depressed.

That is my depression in end of 2011. That was when i was 23 years old. Quarter-life-crisis they said. 😛

End of curhat,

And this is what i got from that moments, about 1 year later.

So that i lived in two parts of my life, very low expectation in most of my life and very high expectation on 2011. Both have positive and negative aspect. I lived in high expectation then got stressed. So, the expectation can easily make us down, that surely the negative aspect. So, what is the positive aspect of high expectation? Expectation is one of our driven, that is our fuel to achieve success.

The thing is, i think, it is not really the expectation that drive us. It is the evaluation. And with high expectation, we constantly compare our expected target with reality. Then it became automatic evaluation. People with low expectation don’t have this mechanism. But, there are many ways to evaluate.

Evaluation is very important. All of the role in our life need to re-evaluate constantly. Japanese get they success with their “Kaizen”, the continuous improvement, that using evaluation. Or remember hadits we (moslem) have, “Today must be better than yesterday”, that is evaluation.

Evaluation is must be applied in each of our role. So, i begin from defining mine. Defining what my roles are very important, so i never get confused again like before. So, what am i? I am a muslim, a student (for next 2 month :P), a transportation Enthusiasm, a child of my parent, a friend for my friends, a neighbor, an entrepreneur, an IT engineer, etc. Then, lets make a better of each one.

For example as a student. If today i study 20 hours a week, i can set a target 25 hours a week for next month. Another example is as an entrepreneur, i can set a target to join an enterpreneur seminar within two months. Remember the target is for our evaluation, not the expectation. So, you can change it, just keep it feasible. But don`t cheat, do improvement! 😀

So, now i prefers to keep everything in low expectation. It fitted me more. I choose to driven by focus on my roles and aware that i need to be a better of thats. Do that just because it is the right thing like before. It better if , i do everything for the Sake of Allah. It`s the best since it will brings the success of dunya and also akhira. 🙂

For me, i hope this note will reminds me to keep my expectation down and remember that i don’t need to doing something to impress anything or anyone (right now i start to comparing my life again). All i need is to do is focus to become a better person. I need to more grateful, start viewing only the positive side again. And get rid most of thoughts from my mind, stop thinking the others! Doing my best, and evaluating.

3 Responses to “Life Rearranged.”

  1. zenthobarony August 25, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    First time i read this writing, i found so many same side in my life right now. So i guessed what i write this like to talk to my self too, hehe 😀

    For me fan, determine the target is seriously important one, because with that you will feel more alive and plan your life for the future. But when you set the target, automatically you will face 2 sided coins, succeed or fail. I don’t blame for expectation. Who doesn’t have that? After your whole fail i guessed you will feel more egoistic and worried if you fail again. But one thing surely you have to remind, you’re not live in future, you live in present. So just give the best shot. After that, you have to completely surrend it to Allah. True story fan. I did that to cure all my worriness about the future caused of my target.

    Comparing life to other #jleb #jleb #jleb haha. Like wise man said, neighbour grass is greener than ours. Once i started to compare my life, the envy feeling, condemn myself, i started to think some point of view like this. The gloryness the other get, the others happiness, I must be look that person just in surface. In other words, i didn’t see how bleedy they are, how painfull, how sweaty, how weary they feel before they accomplish the happiness in what we see. After thinking like that, I will feel, somehow after my lame moment, i must be feeling like that. Like Quran said, inna maal usriyusron. Hehe

    That’s all, hoping this isn’t seems like a boring speech or whatsoever.

    Cheers fan! 😀

    • irfanhanif August 25, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      Nothing boring, i even thinking, that is the kind of conversation that can turn a short coffee break become a long afternoon. 😀

      Hmm. Maybe i go too direct in my write with the ‘conclusion’: Low expectation fit me more. It also ambiguous. But my point is, determination is not about expectation. Maybe it so different than what everything we read right now. Every motivator talking about having a dream, high expectation, whatsoever. Yes, all of us has agreed with that… I just found that it has a missing key step. The key is the intention.

      As long your intention is good, expectation not really matter. Since i found it happened better for me when i focus on my intention (also my attitude & my value) then the times when i go for something/target.

      When expectation rises and we focus on what you called determinated target, it riskier for us to forget the value and attitude. Forget to be gratefull, egoistic, worried. Then people start cheating and hurting people to do that. That’s so negative. It never comes when you focus on your intention and value.

      I know plan is important, i also write about target at my writing, right? 🙂

      Your suggestion completely surrender it to Allah. Again, it will come with people`s best intention : doing it in the name of Allah. Hehe, everything is down to that keyword now. 😀 But surrender all of it,, easier said than done for me. Maybe i just need to get closer to Allah, afterall.

      And Yes, about comparing life. Your second paragraph. You write it so well. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

  2. ray rizaldy August 31, 2012 at 5:58 am #

    Baiklah karena disuruh komentar daku komen juga deh, Fan. Tapi ga bisa nginggris kayak kalian berdua euy. 😀

    Menurut daku, ketika kita melakukan lebih, ekspektasi juga naik.
    Pasti kecewa ketika ekspektasi ga tercapai, apalagi kalau berhubungan sama orang lain. Makanya yang penting adalah mengkomunikasikan ekspektasi itu. Kalo berekspektasi sesuatu ke pacar ya, dikomunikasikan. Kalo berekspektasi kerjaan ke rekan kerja juga dikomunikasikan. Ketika kita berekspektasi kepada diri sendiri untuk mencapai sesuatu ya, komunikasi internalnya juga jalan. Sering kejadian orang ga mencapai apa2 karena dia ya kurang memotivasi dirinya sendiri (komunikasi internal) untuk doing more.

    Kasus yang bisa daku pamerin misalnya: saat pacaran ekspektasinya adalah menyiapkan pacar sebagai istri masa depan yang anggun di ruang tamu, galak di dapur dan fasih dengan akuntansi apalagi bisa galdiran :)). Misalnya ternyata amit2 gagal, bukan terus gw menyesal karena sudah banyak menghabiskan sia2 uang buat bayarin makan, pulsa buat nelpon #BaladaLDR, pikiran buat nemenin nesis, dan terutama waktu selama hampir setahun. Karena semuanya buat daku tak sia2. Pelajarannya: wanita saat ini bukan calon istri yang tepat, pelajaran lainnya misalnya adalah bagaimana sikap yang tepat dalam menghadapi wanita. 😀

    ah sudahlah, nanti daku kebanyakan pamer, malah dikau makin galau. :p

Leave a comment